Mechapixel Forums

Mechapixel Forums (http://mechapixel.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hobbies & Addictions (http://mechapixel.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Food & Such (http://mechapixel.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343)

texasaurus 2009-08-07 11:08

Food & Such

Stumbled on this. I know a there's a few single fellas around here. My brother is still single, and I swear he couldn't make Ice or Toast on his own if I hadn't written down the recipe for him.

http://www.meninaprons.net/

kokopelli 2010-06-13 17:29

Simple, but very effective recipe for Ribs. Tried it out earlier. Used a bit too much rub, but beyond that, it worked wonderfully.

There's a recipe for the rub on the same site. Used it, but as I'm new to rubs, I think I applied a bit too liberally (I'm looking at you, paprika). After the rub, wrapped it up and put in the fridge to marinate for a day. Had it in the oven without sauce. Took 'em out to let them cool, then hit it with some nice bbq sauce and put them in the broiling pan to carmelize. Had to keep close tabs on them, since the heat gets intense, but it did a nice job. I gave today's effort a "B." The rub overtook the bbq flavor just a bit. Next time I'll either just marinate in the sauce, or do a lighter coating of rub, then hit it with the sauce to marinate for 24 hours. The grill is also an option to "finish" them, but today's weather made the broiling pan the better option. They were very tender, and if you like ribs, I'd really encourage y'all to try this out.

p.s. Also learned via the comments to remove the membrane before marinating. This is key. Had tried ribs a few years back without knowing to do that.

b0rg9 2010-06-15 17:46

Good stuff. I learned the membrane removal thing several years ago too. It's a bit of a pain in the ass to do but really worth it.

texasaurus 2010-06-15 17:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by b0rg9 (Post 14962)